The Exploding Girl (or: Countdown to spring dresses)

You guys, the days are officially getting longer. By some weird design, though, that means we’ve just hit the beginning of winter. All I want to do is curl up on the couch with movies, popcorn, and mugs of hot chocolate with cayenne.

Side note: Are you aware of how much more delicious freshly popped stove top popcorn is than microwave popcorn? Seriously. A lot. My roommate and I have been a bit addicted lately. And it’s easy. Almost as easy as microwave popcorn. Or so she claims. I can’t seem to get the hang of it, but I’m practicing. And it will be so worth it when I get it down.

Back to the couch: Winter is movie season. Summer has its blockbusters and the appeal of air-conditioned movie theatres, but winter is when movies really shine. I spent the last week house sitting for a friend, so I went on an old-fashioned video store outing and picked up a bunch of DVDs to keep me company.

I got:

Parks and Recreation Season 1 (amusing – I didn’t finish, though)

I Can Do Bad All By Myself (had its highs and lows, kind of self important, but Taraji P. Henson is exquisite and amazing)

Babies (pretty adorable)

Eat Pray Love (not as good as the book, but relatively enjoyable. I loved Javier Bardem. What a surprise.)

The Exploding Girl… this was the one I picked up that I had never heard anything about. I had no clue what it would be like. The film is about Ivy (Zoe Kazan). Ivy is epileptic. She is at home during a break from college, a friend from high school is staying with her, and her boyfriend is elsewhere… that’s pretty much all you need to know. The film was a bit slow (if I were being kind I would probably use the word languorous), and not a whole lot happened, but there were some beautiful moments.

One of them involved this dress:

Sitting there in a dark living room, with snow and sub-zero temperatures outside, this dress made me long for springtime and dresses.

Just three to five more months. Luckily I love sweaters, too.

 

Leave a Reply

