Mattie Ross, style icon?

Yessir.

I saw True Grit the other night. The trailer came on before Black Swan,  and the next day I told my roommate that I wanted to see it. “Oh,” she said. “If you want to go tonight you can give my name at an advance screening at the Lightbox.”

Awesome. And yes, please.

So I went, and they gave everyone free popcorn (double awesome), and the movie was great. Well, the movie was good. I liked it, but what I loved was Mattie Ross (played wondrously by Hailee Steinfeld). I also, somewhat surprisingly, loved her outfits.

I was especially into this peter pan collar:

I don’t think I’m the only one, because days later I came across a post on the Worn blog: Make a Peter Pan Collar in 8 Easy Steps.

There were also some amazing black buttons, and of course, I’m a sucker for perfect plaits. Mattie Ross is too awesome – a perfect mix of innocence and toughness. The same is true of her outfits.

Leave a Reply

