Secretary (or: You are a visual representation of my business, and the way you dress is disgusting. Then super hot)

I watched Secretary last night. I saw it for the first time some time soon after it came out in 2002, and for some reason I found it entirely unremarkable. A good friend of mine, someone whose taste I absolutely trust, counts it as her favourite film of all time, so I decided I should watch it again. It was fantastic. I think maybe I just needed more life experience, and possibly more heartbreak, before I could really and truly appreciate it. Maggie Gyllenhaal is just entrancing as Lee Holloway. The way she plays with innocence and sexuality as her character comes into herself through the sadomasochistic relationship that develops between she and her boss (James Spader as E. Edward Grey) is amazing, and every choice she makes with her voice and her face and her body is perfection.

Costuming is so so so important to Lee’s character development, from the awkward girl who seems stuck in adolescence:

or even childhood:

to the unkempt, slightly overwhelmed new professional:

and finally to the empowered (sexually and otherwise) woman she becomes:


What a fantastic movie.

Comments
2 Responses to “Secretary (or: You are a visual representation of my business, and the way you dress is disgusting. Then super hot)”
  1. Jannette Vusich says:

    I wish I could have watched it with you… Reading your insightful comments (sartorial and otherwise) has me itching for yet another screening.

Leave a Reply

